Number of CERN users

980 (January 2016)

CERN contact

Ch. Schäfer

Participation in CERN Experiments


Participation in CERN Accelerator Projects

LHC (also through EU projects), CLIC/CTF3, LINAC4

WLCG Participation

Tire-1 centres, Tier-2 centres

Collaborating Institutes

° Petersburg Nuclear Physics Institute (PNPI), Gatchina
° Kurchatov Institute for Nuclear Research, Moscow
° Institute for Theoretical and Experimental Physics (ITEP), Moscow
° Skobeltsyn Institute for Nuclear Physics, Moscow
° Moscow State University
° Moscow Engineering and Physics Institute (MEPhI)
° Lebedev Institute of Physics (LPI), Moscow
° Russian Academy of Sciences (RAS), Moscow
° Budker Institute for Nuclear Physics (BINP), Novosibirsk
° Obninsk State University
° Institute for High Energy Physics (IHEP), Protvino
° Ioffe Physical Technical Institute, St. Petersburg
° Institute for Nuclear Research (INR), Moscow and Troitsk
° Russian Federal Nuclear Center (VNIIEF) Sarov
° St. Petersburg State University
° Institute of Applied Physics (IAP RAS), Novosibirsk
° JSC NIKIET, Moscow (Associate CMS)
° Electron National Research Institute, St. Petersburg (Associate CMS)

(Only Institutes having signed a Memorandum of Understanding with CERN are listed here. For all participating institutes, refer to the CERN greybook)

Individual contacts with scientists from the then Soviet Union started in 1964. The scientific co-operation with CERN is based on various Agreements and Protocols with the first one signed in 1967. The 1996 Protocol on the participation in the LHC project defined the first Russian contributions to the LHC accelerator. The 2002 Extension to this Agreement brought an additional contribution to the LHC accelerator, now nearly fully committed. The latter, originally valid until the end of 2008, has been prolonged to be used for LHC purposes within the limit of the remaining funds.

The 2003 Protocol is now the official document governing Russian participation in the LHC programme. In 2006 Russia signed the Memoranda of Understanding for the Maintenance and Operation (MoUs for M&O) for the four LHC experiments, and the Russian Institutes are active in the preparation of the LHC physics programmes. Russia is a special Observer State, with the right to attend restricted Council sessions for discussions of LHC matters.

Russia participates in the WLCG as a federation of several centres at the Tier-2 level (RuTier-2), supporting all four LHC experiments.

Russia is participating in the Linac4 project through three R&D projects, fully financed by the International Science & Technology Center (ISTC). Russian institutes are also contributing to the CLIC/CTF3 R&D programme and to many other smaller experiments such as LHCf, AEGIS, ASACUSA, CAST, CLOUD, COMPASS, DIRAC, NA61, NA62, NA63, nTOF and OPERA.