The Associate and Non-Member State Section is responsible for matters concerning relations between CERN and its Associate and Non-Member States. The section

  • develops and enhances links with Associate Member States, Non-Member States and international scientific organizations;

  • and promotes and implements of CERN’s geographical enlargement policy.

Information on the particle physics effort in each country is collected and collated for use by CERN. Visits to the Laboratory by senior officials from the section are also initiated, as well as exploratory visits to individual countries by CERN staff to establish useful contacts in the local physics institutes and high-technology industries.

When appropriate, and particularly where physicists from the Associate and Non-Member States are collaborating in the research and accelerator programme of CERN, the section assists in the preparation of a co-operation agreement between CERN and their institute or country. Section members also participate in the co-ordinating committees between CERN and certain individual countries.

The section maintains a complete and up-to-date record of the participation in the CERN programme of the Associate and Non-Member States and of their corresponding collaborating national laboratories, universities and institutes.

Head of Associate Member & Non-Member State Relations: Emmanuel Tsesmelis

Observer Status (currently held by Japan, Russia and the United States, as well as UNESCO, JINR and the European Union) entitles a country to attend open sessions of the Council.

Japan, Russia and the United States have a special Observer status, with the right to attend restricted sessions of the Council dealing with LHC matters.