An International Cooperation Agreement (ICA) was signed in 1999 with the Secretaría Nacional de Ciencia y Tecnología (SENACYT), while Ecuador nationals were participating in the CMS experiment through third-country Institutes.

In July 2011 a Protocol to the ICA was signed, seeding a particle physics group in the country and promoting participation of Ecuadorian high-school teachers and students in CERN’s programmes.

The President of Ecuador, Rafael Correa Delgado, visited CERN in October 2014. This visit was important to deepen the scientific and technical collaboration between CERN and Ecuadorian institutions.

The 8th CERN – Latin American School of High Energy Physics (CLASHEP) took place in Ibarra in March 2015.

In September 2015, Escuela Politécnica Nacional (EPN) and Universidad San Francisco de Quito (USFQ) from Ecuador joined the CMS Collaboration.

In 2016, CERN donated IT servers to Escuela Politécnica Nacional to further facilitate the participation of scientists from EPN and USFQ in the CMS experiment.

Dernière mise à jour le 1 juillet, 2021

Contacts CERN :

utilisateurs CERN - Participation (vue d'ensemble)